Capital University To Present Pulitzer Prize Winning Author Michael Cunningham October 22 | Capital University


    • Capital University To Present Pulitzer Prize Winning Author Michael Cunningham October 22

      Michael Cunningham Capital University will welcome Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Cunningham on Thursday, October 22, for its annual Gerhold Lecture in the Humanities. Cunningham will present Another Writer’s Beginnings, during which he will explore his career, his work and how he became the writer he is today.

      The event will take place in Mees Hall on Capital’s Bexley campus, 1 College and Main. It is free and open to the public. No tickets are required. Cunningham will speak at 7:30 pm, and a book-signing will follow. He will meet for a question-and-answer session with Capital students at 3 pm that day in the Bridge of Learning, located in 260 Ruff Memorial Learning Center.

      Cunningham is best known for his novel, The Hours, which won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1999 and was adapted into the 2003 Academy Award-winning film of the same name, which starred Julianne Moore, Nicole Kidman and Meryl Streep.

      His other film credits include A Home at the End of the World based on Cunningham’s highly acclaimed novel of the same name, and Evening, for which he wrote the screenplay with Susan Minot, author of the 1998 novel. Cunningham’s other novels include Flesh and Blood, Land’s End: A Walk Through Provincetown, Specimen Days, and By Nightfall. His latest novel The Snow Queen was praised by The Boston Globe as “a masterful performance.”

      Edward L. and Mary Catherine Gerhold established the Mary Catherine Gerhold Annual Lecture in the Humanities at Capital University to promote peace and human understanding through higher education. Past lecturers include journalist, author and essayist Richard Rodriguez, A.S. Byatt, author of the Booker Prize-winning Possession, and Tracy Kidder, Pulitzer Prize winner and author of Mountains Beyond Mountains. Funds from the endowment also support symposia, conferences, study projects and other scholarly activities in Mrs. Gerhold’s honor.

      The couple also established an endowed chair in the humanities at Capital, which is held by Dr. Alexander Pantsov, professor of history author of than 10 books, including The Bolsheviks and the Chinese Revolution, 1919-1927. His biography of Mao Zedong is the current standard. MAO: The Real Story, published in 2012 by Simon & Schuster, by Pantsov and historian Steven Levine, received critical acclaim for its detailed examination of Mao Zedong’s political and personal life.

      Gerhold lecturers have been:

      • Award-winning novelist and screenwriter Dennis Lehane – 2014
      • Journalist, author and essayist Richard Rodriguez – 2013
      • Writer, composer, visual artist and computer scientist Jaron Lanier – 2012 
      • Pulitzer-Prize Winning Author, Illustrator Art Spiegelman – 2011 
      • Booker Prize Winner Michael Ondaatje – 2010 
      • Booker Prize-Winning Author A.S. Byatt – 2009* 
      • Pulitzer Prize Winner Tracy Kidder – 2007