SG Senate

  • The Senate 

    The Senate is comprised of four standing committees and may include temporary committees as required and determined by the Cabinet and Executive Board. Senators serve for one year and are elected in the spring. Freshman senators are elected in the fall during a special election to fill vacant senate spots.  A senator is permitted to either represent their Academic Class or Departmental School.  


    To actively seek out and represent the opinions of the student body to the University through consideration of recommendations and resolutions.

    To Allocate funds as requested and submitted by Approved Student Organizations and to regulate the operation of Student Government and its components by the consideration of legislation. 

     Senators 2014-15
    Row 1: Aaron Kraft, Arielle Johnson, Camren Harris, Carly Moss, Devon Handler
    Row 2: Hannah Butler, Grant Sharratt, Grace Day, Jenna Blate, Kenny Duncan
    Row 3: Matese Fields, Matt StClair, Megan Brown, Megan Lentz, Mercedes Wiley
    Row 4: Zachary Gerhardt, ReSean Johnson, Nick Reade, Michal Strawn, Meredith Gaul

    Academic Affairs Committee  

     Purpose:  To consider issues regarding the academic experience of students such as, but not limited to, majors/minors, General Education Requirements, academic advising and academic support services.  
    Committee Head: Grant Sharratt, Email:   

    Governance and University Operations Committee 

    Purpose: To consider issues such as, but not limited to, university planning; facilities, technology and infrastructure; admissions and financial aid; vendor relations; and university administrative support areas.  
    Committee Head: Michal Strawn, Email: 

    Student Activities Committee 

    Purpose: To review and approve the constitutions of student organizations, provide support and advocacy for student organizations, and consider issues related to university programming, ministries and multicultural affairs.   
    Committee Head: Tommy Stolly, Email:    

    Student Life Committee

    Purpose: To review issues regarding the out-of-class experiences of students such as, but not limited to, residence life and commuter concerns, campus safety, dining, health and wellness, recreation, and athletics.
    Committee Head: Carly Moss, Email: 


    Non-Standing Committees 

    Student Organization Allocation Committee 

    Purpose: To consider requests for funding from student organizations received by published deadlines and to determine funding allocations within the scope of the committee's authority and recommend allocations for consideration by the Senate.   

    Budget Committee 

    Purpose: To develop the annual budget for presentation to Senate and to serve as the review committee for student organization funding appeals. 

    Judicial Committee

    Purpose: To investigate reports of impropriety or official misconduct and bring impeachment charges to the Senate along with serving as the review committee for appeals resulting from sanctions assessed for Election Rule violations.