Skip to nav Skip to content

David D. White Award and Scholarship Reception

Capital University Law School and the African American Law Alumni Association cordially invite you to the

35th Annual David D. White Award Presentation & Networking Event

Honoring Professor Daniel T. Kobil 

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

4:30pm to 6:30pm

Capital University Law School
Fourth Floor Event Space
303 E Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215

Professor Daniel T. Kobil



This event helps support the David D. White Scholarship Endowment at Capital University Law School, created in 1989 by the African American Law Alumni Association. 

To support the David D. White Scholarship, please go to, select the designation "Other," and manually enter "David D. White Scholarship."

Call 614-236-7129 with any questions.

About David D. WHite
David D. White

David D. White was Capital University Law School’s first African-American graduate and was an influential figure in the Central Ohio legal community his entire professional career.

Born in Winston-Salem, N.C., White came to Columbus at an early age and attended local schools where he was an outstanding athlete. He graduated from the Columbus School of Law (now Capital University Law School) in 1931 and became the first African-American attorney licensed to practice in Columbus. He practiced for more than 57 years as a partner in the firm of Bell, White and Ross.

White was a member of the Columbus Bar Association Board of Governors, the Ohio Public Defender Commission, the Ohio State Bar Association’s Council of Delegates, and the Ohio Civil Rights Commission.

The African American Law Alumni Association established the David D. White Scholarship Award in his honor. The award has been presented annually since 1989.

White passed away in 1992.

In 2011, White was one of the inaugural Capital University Law School Hall of Honor inductees, a recognition reserved for individuals who have profoundly influenced the Law School and reached and remained at the pinnacle of their fields for a period of time that demonstrates perseverance and maturation.  

2024 Award Recipient

Daniel T. Kobil

Dan Kobil is a Professor of Law at Capital University Law School in Columbus, Ohio, where he has taught principally in the areas of constitutional law and criminal procedure since 1987.  He graduated (Magna cum Laude) from the University of Toledo Law School where he was the Editor-in-Chief of the University of Toledo Law Review.  He clerked for Judge Albert J. Engel of the U.S. Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, and thereafter was an associate in the Columbus office of Baker and Hostetler before joining the faculty of Capital University Law School in 1987.
Professor Kobil’s writings on constitutional matters have appeared in such journals as the University of Texas Law Review, the Ohio State Law Journal, and the Federal Sentencing Reporter.  Professor Kobil has also testified before Congress, written numerous newspaper articles, and made frequent media appearances on issues involving constitutional law generally, and the executive clemency power in particular.  He has helped to represent individuals on Death Row in their efforts to obtain commutation of their capital sentences.  He has also participated in cases involving constitutional issues in the United States Supreme Court and litigated a number of free speech cases in Ohio’s state and federal courts.
Previous David D. White Award Recipients

2024 Daniel T. Kobil
2023 Hon. Terri Jamison, L'04
2022 Cassandra Jeter Bailey, L'03
2021 Lindsay Ford Ellis, L'07
2020 Jennifer A. Adair, L'05
2019 Hon. James E. Green
2018 Fred Gittes
2017 Hon. Stephen L. McIntosh
2016 Mark Hatcher, L'06, LL.M.'06
2015 John H. Strick, II
2014 Richard C. Pfeiffer, Jr.
2013 Jerry O. Allen, '75, L'84
2012 Janet L. Green Marbley, L’79
2011 Jack A. Guttenberg
2010 Hon. H. Alfred Glascor
2009 Floyd D. Weatherspoon
2008 Douglas J. Haynes, L’81 (posthumously)
2007 Mayor Michael B. Coleman, H’01
2006 Patsy A. Thomas, L’94
2005 Hon. Algenon L. Marbley, H’00
2004 Jack G. Gibbs Jr., L’81
2003 Senator Ben Espy
2002 Larry H. James
2001 Carl D. Smallwood
2000 Hon. Yvette McGee Brown
1999 Hon. Robert M. Duncan
1998 Janet E. Jackson
1997 John W. Waddy Jr., L’78
1996 Robert J. Weiler, L’83
1995 Janice G. White, L’77
1994 Hon. John A. Howard, L’49
1993 Clenzo B. Fox, L’53
1992 Louis Bernard LaCour, L’61
1991 William T. Johnson, L’72
1990 David D. White, L’31