Professional Licensure Disclosure

The curriculum for programs customarily leading to licensure or certification at Capital University have been designed to meet requirements in Ohio. Curriculum leading to licensure or certification in Ohio may not be sufficient to obtain a license or certificate in another state.

State Authorization

Capital University is a member of the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA) which allows the university to provide distance-learning programs and coursework to residents of states other than Ohio. NC-SARA membership does not provide reciprocity or exemption from state professional licensing requirements.

State-by-State Program Requirements

See the list below for licensure or certification information about programs in different states.

Counseling

Capital University offers two programs in counselor education, School Counseling and Clinical Mental Health Counseling. The counseling programs at Capital University are accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP). Graduates of both the School Counseling and Clinical Mental Health Counseling programs are eligible for licensure in the state of Ohio.

For more information, see the websites for the following agencies:

- Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)
- Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board (CSWMFT)

This program meets the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Ohio

This program does not meet the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Education

Capital University offers a wide range of teacher education programs designed to prepare teacher candidates for licensure and endorsement requirements in Ohio and to prepare candidates for Ohio licensure exams. A list of teaching licensure and endorsement programs is available on the School of Education page.

For more information, see the websites for the following agencies:

- Ohio Department of Education (ODE)
- Ohio Department of Higher Education (ODHE)

This program meets the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Ohio

This program does not meet the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Nursing

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing program meets educational requirements to apply for the registered nurse license in the state of Ohio. The program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and approved by the Ohio Board of Nursing.

For more information, see the websites for the following agencies:

- Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
- Ohio Board of Nursing (OBN)

This program meets the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Ohio

This program does not meet the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Social Work

Capital University offers a Bachelors of Social Work (BSW) degree accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). The BSW program meets the educational requirements to apply for Licensed Social Worker (LSW) licensure in the state of Ohio.

For more information, see the websites for the following agencies:

- <u>Council on Social Work Education</u> (CSWE)
- Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board (CSWMFT)

This program meets the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Ohio

This program does not meet the educational requirements to apply for licensure or certification in the following states and U.S. territories: Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming